Eight Limbs

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Yoga Basics and other Yoga topics.

What are the eight limbs of yoga?

Eight Limbs

Traditional yoga has eight steps, or limbs, for guidance in living a meaningful and purposeful life. They are: Yama, moral disciplines; Niyama, self disciplines; Asana, postures; Pranayama, breath control; Pratyahara, sensory withdrawal; Dharana, concentration; Dhyana, meditation; Samadhi, transcendence.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Yoga Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Sheri Ann Richerson