Classical Yoga/The Eightfold Path

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Yoga Basics and other Yoga topics.

What are the Eight Limbs of Classical Yoga?

Classical Yoga/The Eightfold Path

In the second century C.E., Patanjali composed a seminal text, Yoga-Sutra and defined Classical Yoga. The 195 aphorisms or sutras that comprise the Yoga Sutra, expound upon Raja-Yoga, which is the eightfold Yoga path. The Eight Limbs of Classical Yoga are: 1) Yama/Restraint, 2) Niyama/observance of purity, tolerance and study, 3) Asana/Physical Exercises, 4) Pranayama/Breath Control, 5) Pratyahara/Preparation for Meditation 6) Dharana/Concentration, 7) Dhyana/Meditation and 8) Samadhi/Enlightenment.



6/25/2006 10:54:33 AM
Donna said:

I've practiced yoga for years, but had never heard of this eight-fold path. This tip was very helpful. Thanks!


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Yoga Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Heidi Splete