Hatha Yoga: Postures & Breathing

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Types of Yoga and other Yoga topics.

What does Hatha yoga focus on?

Hatha Yoga: Postures & Breathing

Of the Eight Limbs of Yoga, Hatha yoga is focused on the third and fourth limbs. These are Asana (Postures) and Pranayama (Breathing). In practicing these limbs, it is said that the body is then prepared by clearing the channels of energy (Nadis). Any blockage is removed, and the remaining Limbs -- Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, and Samadhi -- are better able to function.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Yoga Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Sherril Steele-Carlin