Six Branches

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Yoga Basics and other Yoga topics.

What are the different Yoga philosophies?

Six Branches

Hatha Yoga is the branch of yoga most commonly practiced in the West. It's basically the physical form of yoga with a focus on postures, breathing and meditation.

However, there are five other branches: Raja Yoga, Karma Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Jnana Yoga and Tantra Yoga, each ascribes to a slightly different philosophy. For example, Raja Yoga is also known as classical yoga and its focal point is meditation.



12/5/2008 11:23:07 AM
gwen-fl. said:

new to yoga -this is the type of knowledge i need - thank you


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Yoga Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Barbara Gibson